HOPE Standard Post- Practicing Intentional Inquiry and Planning for Instruction.  How will I integrate technology meaningfully?

P1- Practice intentional inquiry and planning for instruction

 To me, practicing intentional inquiry and planning for instruction means educating oneself in order to provide meaningful and expansive learning experiences for my students.  This past winter I studied how to integrate technology into the classroom.  I learned about all the educational resources that are available in the digital world, and explored possible plans for using these resources in lessons to help students become valuable contributors to the digital world.

The evidence I am presenting is Integration of Technology coursework.

https://edithmckenzie.wordpress.com/2014/03/03/iste-standard-3-edtc-6433-cultivating-global-awareness-and-cultural-sensitivity-utilizing-skype/

 

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) provides education and standards to help teachers have the skills and behaviors of digital age professionals. One of the ISTE standards calls teachers to inquire and plan for how they will cultivate cultural sensitivity and global awareness.  I found this project to be particularly relevant to my goals for technology integration because I want to help students grow empathy for people in all areas of the world.  My triggering question for this inquisition was, “how can I offer students digital experiences where they connect with, and learn about children from all around the globe?”

I discovered two effective resources for connecting students globally, and promoting empathy for other cultures.  The first is Skype in the Classroom, and the second resource is a project-based learning application called iearnusa.  My coursework describing how I will utilize these web applications demonstrates my emerging competence for effective intentional inquiry and planning.  I did not have the opportunity to apply this inquiry and planning in my current mentor class.  However, I plan to include this project-based learning opportunity in my curriculum next year to nurture globally sensitive digital citizenship.

Kumar and Vigil (2011) discuss how digital natives, people born after 1984 who expect integration of digital technology into their educational experience, are not likely to transfer use of technology in creative ways unless they practice intentional inquiry and planning.  I am not a digital native.  So when I consider this research, I am encouraged to know that it is not the quantity of exposure a teacher has had to technology, but a teacher’s intention and actions to use technology meaningfully that counts.

The implications for student learning when I set intentions, take time to educate myself, and exchange knowledge with other professionals is learning that fosters a sense of purpose and self-efficacy in children.  There are so many resources for planning excellent lessons now that teachers have access to the worldwide web. Yet, ultimately it is my responsibility to thoughtfully plan for instruction where I utilize technology in a way that will inspire students to take ownership of knowledge and better their world.  Moving forward, I will continue to reach out to professional learning communities in my immediate community and worldwide to share information for intentional inquiry and planning.

Reference:

Kumar, S. and Vigil, K. (2011). The net generation as preservice: transferring familiarity with new technologies to educational environments. Journal of digital learning in teacher education. 27(4) 144-153. http://ericed.gov/?id=EJ936543

 

This entry was posted in P1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

